Georgia Stroke Professional Alliance

Healthcare professionals involved in the care of stroke patients in GA.

image9

About Us

Healthcare professional involved in the care of stroke patients in Georgia are invited to join us in our endeavor to provide outstanding stroke care and education to the citizens of Georgia.


• Unique, voluntary grass-roots organization   

• Began with 7 Atlanta Stroke Coordinators in 2007    

• Founded in 2009 as Georgia Stroke Professional Alliance    

• Reached Non-Profit Status in 2018    

• Has submitted Abstract to ISC annually since 2012 and presented since 2013    

• Now over 240 members throughout Georgia with representation from hospitals, physician, independent consultants, pharmaceutical and medical device industry representing stroke specific treatments, key stakeholders from the AHA, DPH, Coverdell and leading Research Institution   

• Resource for best practice and mentor those new to stroke care, helps implement “best practices”


Mission Statement

The Georgia Stroke Professional Alliance is committed to stroke prevention and optimizing stroke care through networking and education.

2019 Officers & Committees

image10

Officers

President (2019):  Denise Goings, Medical Center Navicent Health,                              

                               (goings.denise@navicenthealth.org)   


Past President (2018): Carol Fleming, Grady Hospital System                                               

                                       (cfleming@ghs.org)


Vice President:  Dorothea Peters, MSN, RN-BC, St. Josephs'/Candler Health System

                             (petersd@sjchs.org


Secretary:  Shannon Doppelheuer,  Emory 

                     (sdoppelheuer@emory.edu)   


Treasurer: Holley Adams , Northeast Georgia Health System 

                   (holley.adams@nghs.com)

Committee Chairs

Research: Lori Sutherly, Emory/Grady

                   (l.j.sutherly@emory.edu)   


Professional Education: Jessica Wasserman, Grady

                                           (jmcclung@GMH.EDU)                                                            

                                           Deb Camp, Piedmont Newnan 

                                           (Deborah.camp@piedmond.org


Community Education: Jessica Long   


Bylaws:  Erica Walker, Piedmont Newton

                (Erica.Walker1@piedmont.org)                       

                Holley Adams, NGHS

                (holley.adams@nghs.com)   


Membership:  Denise Goings, Medical Center Navicent Health  

                         (goings.denise@navicenthealth.org)      


Marketing (Social Media): Taylor Esdale, Piedmont Atlanta    

                                             (Taylor.Esdale@piedmont.org)                                                                

                                            Jessica Aspinwall, Memroial Health 

                                            (Jessica.Aspinwall@hcahealthcare.com)